Individual Awards

Dietmar Hahlweg, Mayor of Erlangen, Germany from 1972 to 1996, received the IMCL Award in 1991. When first running for election, his slogan was "Green in Erlangen", a promise that he fulfilled by making Erlangen a model ecological city. From replacing asphalt streets with paving set in sand to permit rain percolation, to a groundbreaking recycling system, district heating, and city-wide traffic calming, Erlangen led the way. Mayor Hahlweg's greatest passion was to promote the bicycle as a means of transportation, creating a bicycle network of 175 kilometers through the city.

HRH The Prince of Wales received the first IMCL "Lewis Mumford Award" in 1991 for championing city livability and appropriate human-scale architecture. He called for architecture that enhanced local character, and for planning practices that prioritized quality of everyday life over movement of vehicles and separation of functions. While incurring the wrath of architects who see architecture as a form of self-expression, and planners who believe in "modern" zoning principles, the Prince raised the public debate to a national and international level.

Other individuals who have received  IMCL Awards include: Congressman Earl Blumenauer (Lewis Mumford Award); Mayor Joseph P. Riley, Jr., Charleston, SC, USA; Mayor Charles Royer, Seattle, WA, USA; Mayor Bob Cools, Antwerp, Belgium; Mayor Daniel Kemmis, Missoula, MT, USA; Richard Louv (first Jane Jacobs Award); Richard J. Jackson, MD, MPH (first Henry L. Lennard Award); Wolf von Eckardt; William H. Whyte; Rod Hackney, FRIBA; Jacobo Herdoíza Bolaños; and Ettore Maria Mazzola.

In 2013, two IMCL Joseph P. Riley Jr. Awards were awarded to Mayor James Brainard of Carmel, IN, and to Mayor Ralph Becker of Salt Lake City.. 

In 2014, the IMCL Lewis Mumford Award was awarded to Mayor George Ferguson and Bristol City Council.

In 2015, the IMCL Lewis Mumford Award was presented to Jan Gehl for his inspirational leadership in improving the quality of urban life in cities. 

In 2018 the International Urban Design Award was presented to Architect Maxim Atayants, of St. Petersburg, Russia.